Introductory laboratory courses PHYS 151L, PHYS 152L, PHYS 170L, PHYS 272L
Physics & Astronomy Department, University of Hawaii at Manoa
Faculty supervisor: Philip von Doetinchem (email: philipvd@hawaii.edu)
Spring 2019

There will be no labs in the first week of the semester. The labs will start on January 14, 2019.

Frequently asked questions:
  • You have to be enrolled concurrently with the lecture. For example, if you are planning to take the PHYS 151L lab you have to be enrolled in the PHYS 151 lecture. If you are currently waitlisted for the lecture you cannot enroll in the lab.
  • As a strict prerequisite, the corresponding lecture has to be taken concurrently or before. It is also not possible to take the mechanics and E&M labs concurrently (even if you have taken both lectures before). No exceptions will be made.
  • Not all lab sections are full. Please enroll in the available sections first before requesting to be waitlisted for another section.
  • If you did not get into the lab or if you can only make it to a specific section please go to the first lab of the section that you would like to attend. If availabilty allows the TA might be able to give you an override. This decision is within the discretion of the TA and should be seen as an exception.
  • If you cannot register for the lab and are under the assumption that you fulfill all prerequisites (e.g., this can happen when you are transferring from another school) please contact our department secretary Karen Mertz: physics@hawaii.edu.
  • If you want to withdraw from the course between January 31 and March 25 please have either your TA, our department secretrary Karen Mertz (WAT416), or the faculty supervisor Philip von Doetinchem (WAT430) sign the drop form. In any case, please also inform your TA by email that you are dropping the class.
  • If you decide to drop the lecture you also have to drop the corresponding lab course. No exceptions will be made. You can drop the lab and stay in the lecture.
Location
PHYS 151L, PHYS 170L: PSB108 and PSB110
PHYS 152L, PHYS 272L: PSB111 and PSB112

Text for PHYS 151L, 170L
The mechanics labs use a new zero-cost manual: Laboratory Manual for PHYS151L/170L

Text for PHYS 152L, 272L
Harris, General Physics Laboratory II: Electricity and Magnetism Optics: Physics 152L and 272L, 2nd Ed.: buy online

TA office hours in WAT421:


Graphing software
Free Analysis tool: SciDAVis (Windows, Mac, Linux)
For Macs please make sure to download the pkg file from here

Teaching assistants for the different sections
PHYS-151L-001 Sam Mukai mukais@hawaii.edu syllabus
PHYS-151L-002 Victor Casanueva victorgc@hawaii.edu syllabus
PHYS-151L-003 Pouya Tanouri ptanouri@hawaii.edu syllabus
PHYS-151L-004 Vanshree Bhalotia vanshree@hawaii.edu syllabus
PHYS-151L-005 Vanshree Bhalotia vanshree@hawaii.edu syllabus
PHYS-151L-006 Saroj Pathak spathak@hawaii.edu syllabus
PHYS-151L-007 Sejin Nam sejinnam@hawaii.edu syllabus
PHYS-151L-008 Sejin Nam sejinnam@hawaii.edu syllabus
PHYS-151L-009 Pouya Tanouri ptanouri@hawaii.edu syllabus
PHYS-151L-010 Saroj Pathak spathak@hawaii.edu syllabus
PHYS-151L-011 Victor Casanueva victorgc@hawaii.edu syllabus

PHYS-170L-001 Andrew Meyer andrewm9@hawaii.edu syllabus
PHYS-170L-002 Dana Rampini drampini@hawaii.edu syllabus
PHYS-170L-003 Brian Crow crowbc@hawaii.edu syllabus
PHYS-170L-004 Brett Schuessler brettsch@hawaii.edu syllabus
PHYS-170L-005 Brian Crow crowbc@hawaii.edu syllabus
PHYS-170L-006 Mohammadreza Hashemi hashemi@hawaii.edu syllabus
PHYS-170L-007 Mohammadreza Hashemi hashemi@hawaii.edu syllabus
PHYS-170L-008 Anirvan Shukla anirvan@hawaii.edu syllabus
PHYS-170L-009 Dana Rampini drampini@hawaii.edu syllabus

PHYS-152L-001 Omar Ramadan oramadan@hawaii.edu syllabus
PHYS-152L-002 Siqi Wang siqiwang@hawaii.edu syllabus
PHYS-152L-003 Cory Gerrity cgerrity@hawaii.edu syllabus
PHYS-152L-004 Stephen Hill hillsj@hawaii.edu syllabus
PHYS-152L-005 Siqi Wang siqiwang@hawaii.edu syllabus
PHYS-152L-006 Omar Ramadan oramadan@hawaii.edu syllabus
PHYS-152L-007 Stephen Hill hillsj@hawaii.edu syllabus
PHYS-152L-008 Max Minnig mminnig@hawaii.edu syllabus
PHYS-152L-009 Edward Vause vause@hawaii.edu syllabus

PHYS-272L-001 Jack Borusinski mjb22@hawaii.edu syllabus
PHYS-272L-002 Mahmudul Islam shekh@hawaii.edu syllabus
PHYS-272L-003 Nathan Prins nprins@hawaii.edu syllabus
PHYS-272L-004 Cory Gerrity cgerrity@hawaii.edu syllabus
PHYS-272L-005 Nathan Prins nprins@hawaii.edu syllabus
PHYS-272L-006 Jack Borusinski mjb22@hawaii.edu syllabus
PHYS-272L-007 Mahmudul Islam shekh@hawaii.edu syllabus
PHYS-272L-008 Edward Vause vause@hawaii.edu syllabus
Philip von Doetinchem - 2019