Physics 272 - General Physics II (Electricity, Magnetism, and Optics) Tue-Thurs section

Class meets Tue/Thurs 10:30-11:45 a.m in Watanabe 112
Instructor: Tom Browder
Office: Watanabe 233
Office Hrs: 11:45-12:20 Tue/Thu
Please feel free to stop by my office at other times.
phone: (808)-956-2936
e-mail: teb#phys.hawaii.edu
Course WWW page : http://www.phys.hawaii.edu/~teb/phys272/physics272.html

Prerequisite: Math 242. Calculus is used in this course.
Text: University Physics II by Young and Freedman, 12th Edition
Computers: A computer account with access to World-Wide-Web is required
for the Mastering Physics Exercises

Some of the homework will be done using the Mastering Physics (MP) system.
Grader: Roland Considine (e-mail: rolandc#hawaii.edu)
Grader's mailbox: Watanabe Room 235
Substitute: Professor Bob Morse, e-mail: morse#icecube.wisc.edu
Grading: Problems - 20%, Midterms -35%, Mini-quizzes -5%, Clicker Probs -5%, Final - 35%

There are two midterm exams (notecard and calculator allowed) and six short mini-quizzes (closed book, ~10 minutes).

To learn physics you must do the homework.

Final Exam: Tuesday May 11, 2010; 9:45-11:45 a.m.

Syllabus for Physics 272 (Spring 2010 under construction)

  • Tuesday January 12: Coulomb's Law, Point Charges
    Read Chapter 21
    Homework I: Mastering Physics (MP) Assignment I and Hand in (HI) 21.57, 21.74
    (Homework I is due Tuesday January 19)
    Slides

  • Thursday January 14: Continuous Distributions and Dipoles
    Slides

  • Tuesday January 19: E Fields for Continuous Distributions and Gauss' Law,
    Read Chapter 22
    Homework I due
    Homework II: Mastering Physics Assignment II and Hand-in (HI) 21.96, 22.6, 22.58, 22.30
    (Homework II is due Tuesday January 26)
    Slides

  • Thursday January 21: Electric Fields: Gauss' Law
    Slides

  • Tuesday January 26: Electric Potential
    Homework II due
    Read Chapter 23
    Homework III: Mastering Physics Assignment III and Hand-in (HI) 23.49, 23.61, 23.62, 23.87
    N.B. In Problem 23.87; 1 amu=1.66 x 10^-27 kg (not 10^-24 kg)
    (Homework III is due Tuesday February 2nd)
    Slides

  • Thursday January 28: Electric Potential
    Mini-quiz (E fields+Gauss' Law)
    Slides

  • Tuesday February 2: Capacitors
    Homework III due
    Read Chapter 24
    Homework IV: Mastering Physics Assignment IV and Hand-in (HI) 24.52, 24.54, 24.70, 24.72
    (Homework IV is due Tuesday February 9)
    Slides

  • Thursday February 4: Capacitors
    Slides

  • Tuesday February 9: Current, Resistance and EMF
    Homework IV due
    Read Chapter 25
    Homework V: Mastering Physics Assignment V and Hand-in (HI) 25.53, 25.62, 25.68, 25.72
    Slides
    (Homework V is due Tuesday February 16)

  • Thursday Feb 11: Current, Resistance and EMF
    Slides

  • Tuesday Feb 16: Review for Midterm I (Practice Problems)
    Homework V due
    Homework VI: Mastering Physics Assignment VI and Hand-in (HI) 26.22, 26.60, 26.68, 26.72
    (Homework VI due date Tuesday March 2nd)

  • Thursday Feb 18: Midterm I
    [Will cover Chapters 21, 22, 23 and 24]

  • Tuesday Feb 23: DC circuits
    Slides
    Read Chapter 26

  • Thursday Feb 25: DC circuits and RC circuits
    Slides

  • Tuesday March 2: Charged particles and currents in a B field
    Homework VI due
    Slides
    Read Chapter 27
    Homework VII: Mastering Physics Assignment VII and Hand-in (HI) 27.42, 27.54, 27.66, 27.72
    (**Homework VII is due Thursday March 11)

  • Thursday March 4: Midterm I (redo !!)

  • Tuesday March 9:
    Slides
    Motion in a B field, Magnetic Dipoles
    Read Chapter 28

  • Thursday March 11: Biot-Savart
    Slides
    Homework VII due
    Homework VIII: Mastering Physics Assignment VIII and Hand-in (HI) 28.30, 28.36, 28.38, 28.76, 28.77
    (Homework VIII is due Thursday March 18)

  • Tuesday March 16: Biot-Savart, Ampere's Law
    Slides
    Mini quiz on Kirchoff's Laws
    Read Chapter 29

  • Thursday March 18: Electromagnetic Induction, Faraday's Law
    Slides
    Homework VII due
    Homework IX: Mastering Physics Assignment IX and Hand-in (HI) 29.24, 29.28, 29.36, 29.52
    (Homework IX is due Thursday April 1)

  • Tuesday March 23 - Thursday March 25
    Spring Break

  • Tuesday March 30 : Faradays' Law, Displacement Current
    Slides

  • Thursday April 1: Review for Midterm II
    Homework IX due
    Homework X: Mastering Physics Assignment X and Hand-in (HI) 30.32, 30.44, 30.48, 30.59
    (Homework X is due Thursday April 15)

  • Tuesday April 6: Midterm II
    [Covers material in Chapters 25, 26, 27, 28]

  • Thursday April 8: Inductance and RL circuits
    Slides

  • Tuesday April 13: RL, LC, and RC circuits
    Slides

  • Thursday April 15: AC Circuits
    Slides
    Homework X due
    Homework XI: Mastering Physics Assignment XI and Hand in (HI) 31.14, 31.34, 31.49, 31.50

  • Tuesday April 20: Maxwell's Equations and E+M waves
    Slides
    Mini-quiz on Magnetic Induction

  • Thursday April 22: Maxwell's Equations/E+M Waves
    Slides
    Homework XI due
    Homework XII: Mastering Physics Assignment XII and Hand in (HI) 32.36, 32.49, 32.53, 32.54

  • Tuesday April 27: Reflection and Refraction
    Slides
    Mini-quiz on AC circuits

  • Thursday April 29: Polarization
    Slides
    Homework XII due
    Homework XIII: Mastering Physics Assignment XIII and Hand-in (HI) 33.28, 33.42, 33.46, 33.58

  • Tuesday May 4: Quick Tour of Geometric Optics
    Slides

  • Thursday May 6: Review for Final (Practice problems)
    Homework XIII due

  • Final Exam: Tuesday May 11, 2010; 9:45-11:45 a.m.



    Tom Browder
    Last update: May 4, 2010


    Feb 9-18 and March 2, 4, 30 and April 1 classes will be taught by Professor Bob Morse